Day 5- Miracles

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle.

The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

-Albert Einstein

I have never looked at life as if everything was a miracle. Yet, if I chose the first, I would be denying all of the miracles that I have acknowledged in life.

Everything is a miracle. I don’t know about that. Sure I can acknowledge that trees, flowers, and the way my body works so intricately are miracles. Yes, the way that the Earth orbits around the sun and the hues of blue in the sky are miracles. I will even acknowledge the miracles of the way the brain works and all of the man-made inventions that are created due to that small amount of gray matter.

Yet, where is the miracle in going to grocery store and getting your avocados on sale? Where is the miracle in getting your hair styled? What miracle is occurring when I am watching my favorite reality show? Although, it is a miracle that people will act like that while millions of people watch… but I digress.

My meditation quote challenged me today. I mean miracles are the big stuff, right? I decided to look up the word miracle in the dictionary. I know… a little dorky…. The first definition said, “An effect or extraordinary event in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause.”  Yeah, that’s big stuff! Then, I looked at the second definition.

“[A miracle is] such an effect or event manifesting or considered as a work of God.”

Is everything in my life a work of God or an effect of the work of God? Absolutely! My life is full of His love, His healing, and His protection. My ability to move, breathe, and grocery shop are due to the sensibilities that He gave me. While I don’t think He is rooting for me to watch my favorite reality TV show (which will remain nameless, I don’t want you to know how raunchy I like it), He does give me the free will to make decisions. Considering that God owns everything, giving me free will is quite the miracle.

It took real thought this morning to understand my mediation quote. However, it showed me that I have been missing an opportunity to choose to live as if everything is a miracle.

4 thoughts on “Day 5- Miracles

  1. God is powerfully amazing and this life is full of miracles. Love hearing your thought process of this Einstein quote. In the end, I think you got it: “Considering that God owns everything, giving me free will is quite the miracle.” Thanks for sharing!

    Also – as a reminder, when you leave your link on the TWT page, be sure to leave the specific link for the day and not just your blog link. Today’s permalink is: https://embekka.wordpress.com/2017/03/05/day-5-miracles/ 🙂 Makes it easier to find and comment on! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

